Serving South Windsor And Hartford: DUI/DWI Defense Lawyers
DUI laws across the country are being reviewed on a regular basis. Lawmakers in Connecticut have dedicated themselves to increasing the severity of consequences for those who are convicted of drunk driving.
At Berman & Russo, Attorneys at Law, our lawyers are fluent in the language of the Connecticut DUI penalties and laws. We are aggressive in our defense of your case, standing up for your rights throughout the entirety of the matter.
Your future may be at stake. Contact us or call an attorney at Berman & Russo today at 860-644-1548.
Driving Under The Influence Penalties
Individuals with their first DUI conviction face a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000. In addition, they face up to six months in jail but may be eligible for a suspended six-month jail sentence with 100 hours of community service. Upon conviction of a first offense DUI, your driver's license is suspended by the Motor Vehicle Department for one year.
Second Offense (Within 10 Years Of Last Conviction):
After a second conviction for DUI, the monetary fines increase, ranging from $1,000 to $4,000. In addition, you face up to 2 years in jail, with a minimum mandatory sentence of 120 days to serve and 100 hours of community service. The Motor Vehicle Department will suspend your driver's license for 3 years, or until the age of 21, whichever is period is longer.
Third Offense (Within 10 Years Of Last Conviction):
After pleading guilty to DUI as a third offender, the criminal penalties are much more severe. The monetary fines range from $2,000 to $8,000. In addition, you are subject to up to 3 years in jail, with a one-year minimum mandatory sentence and 100 hours of community service. If you are convicted of your third DUI offense, your driver's license will be permanently revoked.
Administrative Per Se Hearing
In addition to criminal penalties, a DUI arrest leaves you at risk of losing your driver's license. If you have been arrested on suspicion of drunk driving, and have either failed to take a chemical alcohol analysis or refused one, your driver's license will be suspended at 12:01 am on the 31st day following the date of the arrest. The Notice of Suspension will be mailed to your recorded address, allowing you seven days to request a hearing at the Department of Motor Vehicles to challenge the suspension of your license. This hearing is sometimes called the "Per Se" hearing. Our firm can assist you in securing this DMV hearing and represent you at this hearing.
Can I Drive To And From Work If My License Is Suspended As A Result Of An Alcohol-Related Offense?
You may be eligible to obtain a Special Permit to operate your vehicle to and from work while your license is under suspension. This Special Permit is not available to all persons under suspension. We can advise you if you are eligible for such a permit and can assist you in obtaining one.
If you have been arrested or charged with DUI, do not hesitate to contact a defense lawyer at Berman & Russo today. Call us at 860-644-1548 to schedule an appointment to discuss any DUI penalty matters you are facing.
We represent clients throughout Hartford County (east of the Connecticut River) and Tolland County, including the communities of South Windsor, Windsor, East Windsor, Hartford, Bloomfield, Enfield, Windsor Locks, East Hartford, Manchester, Glastonbury, Marlborough, Somers, Stafford, Stafford Springs, Union, Ellington, Tolland, Willington, Vernon, Bolton, Coventry, Mansfield, Storrs, Andover, Hebron, Columbia and Middletown.