South Windsor Theft Charge Defense Attorney
What Are The Consequences for Theft in CT?
In Connecticut, stealing money, property, or services could result in months or years of imprisonment and hefty fines. According to state law, theft, commonly called larceny in CT, occurs when an individual unlawfully takes, withholds, or obtains the property of another individual, intending to deprive the owner of the stolen item permanently or pass the stolen item to another individual. Larceny likewise covers:
- Receiving stolen items
- Keeping lost property and failing to use reasonable efforts to give it back to the owner
- Taking services or property through fraudulent means, false promises, or false pretenses
Penalties for Theft in Connecticut
Larceny offenses in CT are categorized and penalized based on various factors, which include the specific type or nature of the stolen items, the value of the stolen items, and sometimes, the victim of the theft. These penalties are:
- Sixth-degree Larceny – Class C misdemeanor that is punishable by a fine of $500 and three months in jail. Stolen services or property should not exceed $500.
- Fifth-degree Larceny – Class B misdemeanor that is punishable by a fine not exceeding $1,000 and six months in jail. The value of stolen items should not be more than $1,000.
- Fourth-degree Larceny – Class A misdemeanor that is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine not exceeding $2,000. The stolen services or property’s value is $1,000 up to $2,000.
- Third-degree Larceny – Class D felony that is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 and up to five years in prison. The value of the stolen items must not be less than $2,000 and not more than $10,000.
- Second-degree Larceny – Class C felony that is punishable by a fine not exceeding $10,000 and one to 10 years in prison. The stolen item’s value is at least $10,000 but must not exceed $20,000.
- First-degree Larceny – Class B felony that is punishable by a fine not exceeding $15,000 and one to 20 years of jail time. The value of the stolen items is more than $20,000.
The state’s sentencing laws also provide enhanced penalties that are applicable to persistent offenders of larceny. For example, rather than receiving a misdemeanor penalty, the offender could receive class D felony penalties, which include a fine not exceeding $5,000 and up to five years in jail. Repeat felony offenders could likewise face enhanced penalties.
Speak to an Experienced South Windsor Theft Attorney Now
Besides getting a criminal record for theft or larceny, serving time in jail, and paying hefty fines, you might also find yourself having difficulty getting a job, a loan, or housing in the future if you get convicted of larceny. If you are facing a charge for any type of larceny, your best recourse is to seek legal advice from a skilled South Windsor theft attorney as soon as possible.
Our attorney could help you find out more about the charges you’re facing and your possible defenses to ensure that your legal rights are protected. Contact Berman & Russo online or by phone at 860-644-1548 to schedule your free case review today.