Can I Make a Claim If Someone Fled The Scene of The Accident?
Yes. Injured people can make a claim if the at-fault driver fled the scene of the accident. Fleeing the scene of a motor vehicle accident is unlawful in Connecticut. Even so, hit-and-run crashes still occur frequently in the state. The most common reasons why drivers flee the scene of a crash include:
- The driver had a warrant for their arrest.
- The driver didn’t have a license.
- The driver was drunk or drugged driving.
- The driver was driving a stolen vehicle.
- The driver was fleeing after committing a crime.
- The driver just didn’t want to deal with the consequences of causing a crash.
The exact reason why a driver leaves an accident scene could have important implications affecting the injured party’s compensation claim. Medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, emotional distress, pain, suffering, and other related losses add up quickly.
How Do I Get Compensation After a Hit-and-Run Accident in Connecticut?
Hit-and-run crashes are like any other motor vehicle crashes. To recover compensation, the injured party must establish the other party was negligent and caused the crash. They must likewise demonstrate the other party’s negligence resulted in the injured party’s damages. But the main difference between other types of motor vehicle crashes and hit-and-run crashes lies in how injured parties recover compensation for their losses.
If The Hit-and-Run Driver is Found
It is common for drivers involved in hit-and-run crashes to be found within hours or days after the accident. When the negligent driver has been identified, the injured party would seek compensation the same way as for a standard claim, which is through the driver’s insurance carrier.
Under Connecticut law, drivers and vehicle owners must comply with the minimum auto insurance requirements, which are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per individual
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident
- $25,000 underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage per individual and $50,000 per accident
If The Hit-and-Run Driver is Not Found or is Uninsured or Underinsured
When the at-fault driver is uninsured, the injured party’s most viable option is to file a claim against their own underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage policy. This pays for bodily injury to the policyholder and their passengers.
In Connecticut, the minimum required coverage is equal to bodily injury liability limits, but some people may have higher limits. Injured parties can also seek benefits from their uninsured motorist coverage if they get hurt by another driver as they were walking or biking.
Reach Out to a Vernon Roadside Lawyer Now
People who have sustained injuries in a hit-and-run crash in Connecticut would do well to discuss their case with a skilled Vernon roadside lawyer as soon as possible. To find out more about their legal options, get in touch with Berman & Russo and arrange a free case evaluation with their Vernon roadside lawyer by reaching them online or calling 860-644-1548.